The tiny mustard seed sown in 1909 took root and started its steady growth into a mighty tree… Crossing the waves and tides in the stormy weather, sheltered and nourished by the Divine Providence, the Society successfully moved on its onward and upward journey under the guidance of various leaders. Various special events left behind the foot prints on its journey.


  • The first missionaries stepped on the new fertile soil of Tanzania for Mission in 1990.
  • The Regions (Switzerland and India) were given the status of Provinces in the year 1991. In much less short a time, the Indian Province was divided into three Regions in the year 1993 - North, Centre and South having their respective Offices in Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada and in Bangalore.
  • The year 1998 witnessed the installation of the three Regions into Provinces.
  • In 1999, the Society of the Sisters of St. Ann of Luzern, in India was raised to the status of Pontifical Right.
  • The Congregation was divided into two Autonomous Societies forming a Federation with separate Generalates, in Switzerland and in India in 2000.
  • The first Indian Superior General was elected in the year 2000 and the Second General Chapter was conducted in 2006.